The one where I just ramble on

Hello, blog. I remember you.  As I don’t have a whole post worked up in my head, you get this one, all stream-of-conscience and poorly edited.  You also yarn photo (below) because I don’t have anything else to accompany this missive.  And lastly, I give you a generic feature image, one that is sure to change the next time I look at it. 😉

I’ve been reading a lot of other people’s blogs lately and what usually draws me in are the photos.  I love to see photos of people’s works in process.  But I have found that when I am working on a project, I rarely want to stop what I am doing, get the cat off my lap, move the cat next to me, go find my camera, trip over yet another cat on the way back, plop back down on my comfy couch, and start taking photos.  And if I do go through all of that, then I take a whole lot of photos, which then take up even more time to go through, to choose decent ones, to color-correct them, and to get them uploaded.  So it seems there are two choices here: (a) Take 4x as long taking in-process shots, or (b) continually happily working.  “B” seems the obvious choice to me, as unless I’m trying to show a tutorial, there really is no logical need for in-process shots.

Unless I decide to sell patterns.  Which has been floating in the back of my head.

Patons Lace - Woodrose

Now, what I did do was take photos of my yarn stash and chucked them up on Ravelry.  (Wanna see my yarn? Click here if you’re a Ravelry member.)  When you do that, then choose a pattern from Ravelry and tell it you want to use yarn you already have, it tells you how much of your yarn it will use up, even if it’s a totally different yarn that what the pattern calls for.  When you mark the project complete, it removes that much yarn from your digital stash.  Nifty.

Now, remember the database I was working on?

I’m really rather pleased of it save for one thing: once I got up to having over 900 patterns entered the app became slow-slow-s-l-o-w.  Like it takes a couple of minutes to open that database once I open the app, and sometimes takes another couple of minutes after I hit “save” before I can enter another pattern.  I don’t have that trouble with the small databases I keep in the app, so it’s got to be the quantity of records.  So I paused on that project, and went back to Ravelry to add my pattern library there.  It’s simple as pie: you type in a book you have, it automatically loads up all the patterns for you, all tagged logically and everything.  Buuuut (you knew there would be one), not all of the patterns load up.  So again I am left with 2 choices: (a) ignore the Ravelry Library and continue manually loading patterns into my own database, or (b) abandon my database and go through my books one-by-one to see what’s missing from the Ravelry listings.  Because both of those choices sound tedious, and the whole idea of having a single database was to SAVE time in looking for patterns, I have chosen the Unspoken Option C: setting everything aside and just thinking about it for awhile.

But I guess no system is perfect, is it?

Besides the above pattern conundrum  I finished the neck wrap I mentioned in the above post, even though I did end up designing my own thing after all. I also finished a piece that can be worn as a cowl, a shoulder wrap, a waist wrap, or a hood: basically it’s the waist of a vest pattern that, while making it, I decided would have been too hot for me to wear as it was designed, so I stopped after several rows and now have a piece I can wear multiple ways.

Currently I’m working on a sweater deconstruction/reconstruction: see, I bought a lightweight soft pink sweater from a thrift store for about 5 bucks. I took off the neck and the arms and am restructuring the whole thing to have a giant lace collar, lace around the shoulders, and making the sleeves removable because it’s rarely cold enough here for me to wear a sweater, even one made of a very lightweight knitted fabric. I’m hoping that I can wear the sleeves like armwarmers with other short-sleeve tops, too. Being able to peel clothes off in public is a necessity for one who runs as warm as me (and one who gets sick when they get hot!).

I must take photos of these completed projects.  Because people in the Ukraine might want to see what I’ve made.  Actually, there’s another section of Ravelry to add project photos, and there are about a half-dozen other places where I like to upload project photos.

Besides all that? I’ve got bad allergies (f-you, ragweed!), I’m helping my mother, I’m having a lot of time wasted by the medical center I have to go to, and I’m occasionally making homemade salad dressings because leaves are yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

