Moving on to steps 2 and 3

Step 1: Admitting the problem.  A few days ago I mentioned that I’ve been making this blog quite difficult on myself, so I’ve been avoiding it (call me an ostrich, so what?).  And I made a commitment to put a stop to all that nonsense.  The first thing I wanted to so was change the blog’s design theme so I don’t “need” to create a banner graphic for each post.

Step 2: Fixing the problem.  So tonight I’ve spent about 30 minutes looking into new themes for this blog that don’t look weird without a banner graphic for each post.  I forced myself to NOT look at the features and benefits of every single theme that looked interesting, which tells you a bit about my mental stability, I guess.

I also loaded up the WordPress app on my phone so I can type up quickies and upload photos directly from my phone, eliminating a few hours of Photoshoppery.  Not that I don’t love, love, love Photoshoppery, but come on, I ain’t gettin’ no raises from creating fantabulous graphics for these posts (note I said “posts” this time, not “articles” – aren’t you proud of me?).

Step 3: Stop the formality already!  Why was I tweaking the life out of things before posting them to a blog that only my friends and a small handful of strangers read?  If you’re reading this in a feed reader, you won’t see much change.  But if you go to the site itself (madwhimsy.wordpress.com) you’ll see that the new theme isn’t in only just my “official” colors, it’s kind of all over the place.  I may mess with the colors later, but I told myself I’d put this out there AS IS and just see if it really matters.  (My guess?  In a week i won’t care anymore, so why spend a long time on the coding that I hardly understand?)

And so this isn’t wholly without any pictures, here’s one of our youngest cat Alfred with a wee afghan I made for him.  Because kitties.

Alfred's Afghan

One thought on “Moving on to steps 2 and 3

Leave a Reply

